An online journal of politics, policy, and society with a special focus on Maryland -- Contact: on_background at yahoo.com.

Wednesday, June 08, 2005

Van Hollen

After the obvious names like Frosh, Shriver, and Perez, this week the Gazette ticked off names for the potential vacancy in the 8th, should Chris Van Hollen run for Senate:
"...Maryland Democratic Party Chairman Terry L. Lierman, who ran unsuccessfully for Congress in 2000; Susan Turnbull, vice chairwoman of the Democratic National Committee; Sen. Robert J. Garagiola (D-Dist. 15); Del. William A. Bronrott (D-Dist. 16); House Majority Leader Kumar P. Barve (D-Dist. 17); Montgomery County Councilman Philip M. Andrews (D-Dist. 3) of Gaithersburg; and Ira S. Shapiro, who lost to Van Hollen in 2002."

More interesting were the Gazette's none-too-subtle nudging of Van Hollen to stay out of the Senate race.